Support

We take support seriously. Our team of experienced users and developers are here to help you get the best out of d3, every time.

E-mail Support

Got a question you want answered by email?

support@d3technologies.com

Customer Phone Support

For urgent support enquiries we are available 24/7.

+44 20 7234 9841

Latest Annoucements

Information on d3 r11's MultiEdit

22/07/13

One of the key new features in our recently released full software version d3 r11 is MultiEdit.This feature lets multiple operators collaborate in real time to prepare and edit a show. This helps you reduce set-up time and move through the d3 workflow with more efficiency than ever before.

What is MultiEdit?
For the first time, d3 r11 lets you connect multiple d3 Designers to the master and work in parallel, without having to merge project files manually. Just as with another new feature in d3 r11, LiveUpdate, all edits propagate in real time to all machines in the network.

This enables a whole new set of powerful, parallel workflows:
• Line up and calibrate multiple projectors at the same time
• Adjust softedge blending on multiple projectors with multiple operators at the same time
• Set up feeds and calibrate projectors while another editor edits tracks
• Distribute track editing tasks among multiple operators
• Work on design and show feedback during rehearsals, with instant updates
• Review and organise content during rehearsals
• Edit lighting and video looks in parallel on the same track

How does MultiEdit work?
On any d3 Designer system, all you need to do is copy the show folder from the master; then, while the master is running, use the new d3 Manager to join the editing session. You can move to any track or part of the timeline, and edit any part of the show; your changes are pushed in real time to the master, and from there to all connected machines. If you are only using MultiEdit for projector calibration, note that you do not need to copy over video content from the show folder: the d3 project file will suffice.

A lockout mechanism prevents inconsistencies; if two people try to edit the same object, the first one to touch the object locks it for approximately a tenth of a second); subsequent edits from another source have no effect. As long as your edits don’t conflict, you can even have two people working on different properties of the same layer (e.g. brightness and colour) in the same track at the same time.

Where can I find information on MultiEdit?
• What is MultiEdit: http://r11.d3technologies.com/#multiedit_whatsnew
• Ground rules for MultiEdit: http://r11.d3technologies.com/#multi-edit
• How to use MultiEdit: http://r11.d3technologies.com/#using-multiedit...

Read More

d3 r11 is released

21/06/13

d3 Technologies are pleased to present our new d3 Release 11 software. Packed with new features specifically designed for complex multi-projector shows, d3 r11 will help you dramatically reduce on-site set-up times, and deliver a faster, smoother workflow from start to finish to give you confidence in the face of tight deadlines.

For a detailed list of new features and changes please see the What’s new section in the r11 User-Guide.

QuickCal
d3 r11 features QuickCal, a revolutionary new way to get your projectors lined up on site. Place virtual projectors in the stage simulator, drop reference points onto the 3d model of the projection surface, and then line them up on the actual surface. Regardless of how complex the surface model is, you only need 10-15 points per projector, so you can line up a projector in just a few minutes. Better still, QuickCal allows multiple operators to work in parallel, reducing setup time even further.
For those situations when you have a large number of projectors and a tight deadline, QuickCal makes projector lineup fast and easy.

MultiEdit
While we’re excited about all the new features in r11, MultiEdit is perhaps the feature with the greatest implications for the future. In a nutshell, it lets multiple operators collaborate in real time to prepare and edit a show.

12HD playback
d3 r11’s video playback engine is now more powerful than ever. A single 4U machine now plays up to 12 layers of HD video, twice that of R10, and handles video files up to 8K pixels wide. Stack up your content to stay ahead of the ever-growing demand for bigger, better and more complex shows – and all this without upgrading the hardware.

LiveUpdate
d3 r11 introduces a long-awaited feature, LiveUpdate, designed for large master/slave networks. Now all your editing changes are reflected instantly on the slaves, in real time. It’s so seamless, it’s like having a single machine at your fingertips.

Live video
We’ve also spent a lot of time optimising video capture. We’ve improved it from 4 frames (average) in r10 to 2 frames; with the proviso that your outputs are synchronised via the ATI S400 utility. This means that d3 is now capable of achieving lip-sync at close quarters (i.e. in most theater settings), which wasn’t the case before.
We’ve overhauled the way d3 responds to external transport messages (jump to cue and timecode), to make it more flexible and powerful.

Transport system
In r11, you can freely combine MIDI, Artnet and OSC transport commands within the same track, and receive LTC timecode as audio directly into d3 via its balanced XLR or phono inputs.

Improved History Management
In r11, we’ve improved history management. Now, a new history version is created whenever d3 auto-saves (i.e. every five minutes, or less if you change the autosave option). History versions are tagged with version numbers as well as a more readable date-stamp, and are saved in a local history/ folder within your project folder; so you if you copy the project to another machine, you’ll always have the history files.

Other features
Besides these major advances, d3 r11 contains a range of improvements including d3 Manager, much faster movie writing for large video files and a lot more....

Read More

Restore d3 hardware to Factory Settings

16/05/13

This document gives an overview of when and how to restore your d3 2U or 4U machine back to factory settings. This information is of particular interest to those renting out d3 rackmount systems to end users, where returned machines might have altered user settings or information still on the machine that is not needed for the next project or customer. Restoring to the factory default will ensure your next customer will get the clean slate they expect when renting a d3 rackmount system.
For the document please click here....

Read More

Training Events

Webinars - (online)

01/04/14

Basic Training - d3 Technologies, London

26/03/14
Training Page